Fiction

Between the Bookends: 8 Books We Read in August 2021

As summer draws to an end, Sophie, Scott, and Amy are excited to share eight of the books they have…

September 1, 2021

Are OwlCrate/OwlCrate Junior Book Subscription Boxes Worth the Money?

Book subscription services send books and book-themed items to your door every month; OwlCrate is one that also offers a…

August 14, 2021

Between the Bookends: 6 Books We Read in July 2021

In this month's Between the Bookends, Sophie explores a wide range of non-fiction and picks up some interesting fiction too.

August 1, 2021

3 Otherworldly Books for Fans of UFOs, Aliens, and the Paranormal

With the subject back in the news, here are three recent books that touch on UFOs, aliens, and other related…

July 2, 2021

Between the Bookends: 3 Books We Read in June 2021

We hope you will find something interesting within the three books featured in this month's Between the Bookends.

July 1, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Trouble Girls’ by Julia Lynn Rubin

'Trouble Girls' by Julia Lynn Rubin is a YA story about two queer teenage girls, inspired by 'Thelma and Louise'…

June 21, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Here the Whole Time’ by Vitor Martins

'Here the Whole Time' by Vitor Martins is a body-positive, Brazilian YA novel about two gay teen boys who live…

June 19, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Me, My Dad, and the End of the Rainbow’ by Benjamin Dean

'Me, My Dad, and the End of the Rainbow' by Benjamin Dean is the story of twelve-year-old Archie whose dad…

June 13, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘The Deepest Breath’ by Meg Grehan

'The Deepest Breath' by Meg Grehan is an unusual, LGBTQ middle-grade book that is written entirely in verse.

June 11, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘As Far As You’ll Take Me’ by Phil Stamper

'As Far As You'll Take Me' by Phil Stamper is about a gay 17-year-old from Kentucky who lies to his…

June 9, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Ace of Spades’ by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

In 'Ace of Spades,' Devon & Chiamaka (the two Black students at their school) are targeted by the anonymous 'Aces'…

June 7, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘One Last Stop’ by Casey McQuiston

'One Last Stop' by Casey McQuiston follows August who falls in love with a girl trapped in a time loop…

June 5, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘The Passing Playbook’ by Isaac Fitzsimons

'The Passing Playbook' by Isaac Fitzsimmons is a coming-of-age book about transgender rights and football (soccer) in equal measure.

June 3, 2021

Between the Bookends: 5 Books We Read in May 2021

In this month's Between the Bookends, Sophie reviews 5 books including the latest from John Green and a middle-grade about…

June 1, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Heartstopper’ Series by Alice Oseman

'Heartstopper' by Alice Oseman is a series of graphic novels about two British teenage boys navigating their burgeoning relationship.

June 1, 2021

Book Review: ‘The Final Revival of Opal and Nev’ by Dawnie Walton

'The Final Revival of Opal and Nev' by Dawnie Walton is the oral history of a fictional rock 'n' roll…

May 11, 2021

Between the Bookends: 9 Books We Read in April 2021

In this month's Between the Bookends, Sophie and Lisa review nine books covering a mixture of picture books, middle grade,…

May 1, 2021

Adventures on Trains: My Favorite Middle-Grade Book Series in 2021

This month I picked up the next books in the Adventures on Trains series: 'Kidnap on the California Comet' and…

April 14, 2021

Between the Bookends: 4 Books We Read in March 2021

In this month’s between the bookends, Sophie and Rebecca share four books they read in the month of March.

April 1, 2021

Between the Bookends: 7 Books We Read in February 2021

In this month's between the bookends, Sophie and Scott share seven books they read in the month of February across…

March 1, 2021