Sophie Brown

GeekMom Halloween Reading Roundup 2021: Adult

Our final Halloween roundup for 2021 is all about adult fiction, so read on for reviews of seven terrifying tales…

October 22, 2021

Kickstarter Alert: Flipsi Puzzles, “Haunted Places and What Lurks Within…”

Flipsi Pizzles is a new range of 500 piece double-sided jigsaw puzzles currently campaigning on Kickstarter.

October 17, 2021

GeekMom Halloween Reading Roundup 2021: Young Adult

Today’s Halloween roundup is all about YA, so check it out for reviews of six spooktacular stories for teens and…

October 15, 2021

GeekMom Halloween Reading Roundup 2021: Middle Grade

Today’s roundup is all about middle grade, so keep reading to see 9 spooktacular stories for kids that will also…

October 8, 2021

Back to School: Two Teacher-Authored Books About Life in the Classroom

These two teacher-authored non-fiction books both claim to give an insider's perspective on life inside British schools.

October 7, 2021

GeekMom Halloween Reading Roundup 2021: Picture Books

Today's Halloween reading roundup is all about picture books, so keep reading to see 8 spooktacular stories for the littlest…

October 1, 2021

Between the Bookends: 8 Books We Read in August 2021

As summer draws to an end, Sophie, Scott, and Amy are excited to share eight of the books they have…

September 1, 2021

‘Powerwash Simulator’: The Most Relaxing Video Game of 2021

In 'Powerwash Simulator' you'll start up your own power washing business and clean everything from vans to houses to the…

August 28, 2021

Are OwlCrate/OwlCrate Junior Book Subscription Boxes Worth the Money?

Book subscription services send books and book-themed items to your door every month; OwlCrate is one that also offers a…

August 14, 2021

Between the Bookends: 6 Books We Read in July 2021

In this month's Between the Bookends, Sophie explores a wide range of non-fiction and picks up some interesting fiction too.

August 1, 2021

The GeekMom Picture Book Roundup: Summer 2021

Here are nine of my favorite picture books from 2021 that I hope you and your family will enjoy reading…

July 17, 2021

My Nametags: Affordable and Customizable Nametags Designed By You

My Nametags is a company that makes it easy to label everything from clothing to pencils with affordable and fully…

July 13, 2021

3 Otherworldly Books for Fans of UFOs, Aliens, and the Paranormal

With the subject back in the news, here are three recent books that touch on UFOs, aliens, and other related…

July 2, 2021

Between the Bookends: 3 Books We Read in June 2021

We hope you will find something interesting within the three books featured in this month's Between the Bookends.

July 1, 2021

The Saga Continues: ‘The High Republic: The Rising Storm’ – Cavan Scott

Cavan Scott takes the High Republic reins with 'The Rising Storm' which is set just a few months after the…

June 29, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Wranglestone’ by Darren Charlton

'Wranglestone' by Darren Charlton is a queer YA story set in post-apocalyptic America in the years following a global zombie…

June 29, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Both Sides Now’ by Peyton Thomas

'Both Sides Now' by Peyton Thomas is a YA novel about a transgender teen boy in the approach to the…

June 27, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating’ by Adiba Jaigirdar

'Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating' by Adiba Jaigirdar is a contemporary YA novel about two Irish, Bengali girls…

June 25, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Be Dazzled’ by Ryan La Sala

'Be Dazzled' by Ryan La Sala is a YA, dual-timeline novel about a teenage cosplayer set in the world of…

June 23, 2021

Pride Month 2021: ‘Trouble Girls’ by Julia Lynn Rubin

'Trouble Girls' by Julia Lynn Rubin is a YA story about two queer teenage girls, inspired by 'Thelma and Louise'…

June 21, 2021